Love Island prize money: How much winning couple receive and why nobody ever steals it

Love Island prize money: How much winning couple receive and why nobody ever steals it

Love Island is over for another year with Ekin-Su Cülcüloğlu and Davide Sanclimenti being crowned the winners of the 2022 series.

Fans were ecstatic to see the pair, both 27, take home the crown and the £50,000 prize fund after watching their drama-filled love story play out on-screen over the past eight weeks.

However this year’s finale missed out the iconic steal or split twist and instead the winning couple automatically split the prize fund, with host Laura Whitmore revealing that the final relationship test had been scrapped earlier on during the final show.

Usually, the two winners are separated and asked to select an envelope each – one contains £50,000 while the other holds £0.

The Love Island winning couple are awarded £50,000 to split between them

Whoever picks the envelope containing the entire prize fund then has to decide whether they wish to split the money with their partner, meaning they’ll each receive £25,000, or if they wish to steal the whole sum for themselves.

Splitting the money is a sign of the Islander’s commitment to their partner and shows whether they ultimately entered the villa for love or money.

No one in Love Island history has stolen the prize fund with all of the previous winning couples opting to take home £25,000 each.

It would take an exceptionally brave contestant to choose to take home the entire £50,000 prize fund, as they’ve each spent weeks convincing their partner, fellow Islanders and the public that they’re genuinely in love.

Previously, the winning couple would have to choose whether to split the £50,000 prize fund or steal it

Become an OK! VIP and get all of our exclusive interviews, videos and stunning photo shoots sent straight to your inbox every week!

You’ll receive an email with stories exclusive only for OK! VIP members, including celebrity house tours, baby reveals, wedding snaps and so much more!

What are you waiting for? Sign up here

However, there are some former winners who have spoken out about their regret over splitting the cash as their romance with their fellow winner was short-lived.

Jess Hayes won the first series of Love Island alongside Max Morley in 2015, but the pair split up just six weeks after leaving the villa.

She appeared on Love Island After Sun during the 2022 series alongside Hannah Elizabeth, who came in second place on the 2015 series with Jon Clark, and revealed that she regrets splitting the prize fund with Max.

When asked if she’d do anything differently if she entered the villa again, Jess admitted: “Do you know what, it was such a journey for me and I think I was hated at the beginning you know. I loved it so much, it was hard.

“I think the only thing I would do differently is I would have taken all the money. 100% I should have taken all that money.”

Jess Hayes revealed that she wished she’d taken the whole prize fund instead of splitting it

Ekin-Su and Davide took home £25,000 each after being crowned the winners of Love Island 2022, with Gemma Owen and Luca Bish being announced as runners-up.

Indiyah Polack and Dami Hope came in third place while Tasha Ghouri and Andrew Le Page came fourth.

Love Island 2022 is available to watch on the ITV Hub.


Read More